The North American Free Trade Agreement Nafta Was Signed by Which U.s. President Quizlet

The North American Free Trade Agreement, also known as NAFTA, is a trilateral agreement between the United States, Canada, and Mexico. NAFTA was signed on December 17, 1992, by then-U.S. President George H.W. Bush and was later ratified by all three countries in 1994.

The agreement aimed to eliminate trade barriers between the three countries and establish a free trade zone in North America. It was seen as a way to promote economic growth and job creation by increasing trade and investment opportunities among the three countries.

The agreement had its fair share of controversy, with some believing that it led to job losses in the U.S. due to companies moving operations to Mexico to take advantage of lower wages. Others argued that it created new job opportunities and helped the economies of all three countries grow.

Despite the controversies, NAFTA remained in effect for over two decades until it was replaced by the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA) on July 1, 2020.

But who was the U.S. president who signed NAFTA into law? That is the question that often pops up in quizzes and trivia games. The answer is George H.W. Bush, who served as the 41st President of the United States from 1989 to 1993.

Interestingly, it was President Bill Clinton who played a significant role in getting NAFTA passed. After winning the presidency in 1992, Clinton worked to secure congressional approval for the agreement, and it was finally ratified in 1994.

In conclusion, NAFTA was signed by President George H.W. Bush, but it was President Bill Clinton who played a significant role in getting the agreement passed. While the agreement had its controversies, there is no denying that it had a significant impact on trade and investment in North America.